February 2010 – Mailing from David

February 15, 2010

Happy New Year of the Iron Tiger!

David Lee Hoffman here. You may remember me as Silk Road Teas. Five years ago I sold the company but kept my entire inventory of pu-erh teas. Now I’m excited to let you know I am back in the tea business as “The Phoenix Collection”.

The Phoenix Collection predominantly consists of pu-erh teas. I began drinking this tea in 1967 while living in Asia. In 1992 I started Silk Road Teas and have continued on a serious pursuit of pu-erh sourcing and collecting ever since. I have also added the best green, black, and oolong from my most recent trip to China.

If you like pu-erh tea, or have an interest in trying some, you’re in luck. We’ve got over 300 in stock, the oldest dating back to 1949. Any pu-erh that you had purchased from me in the past is most likely still available. As we get all of these teas inventoried, we will keep you posted.

If you like green tea, you’re in luck. The choice is easy; we’re only offering one. We’re calling it David’s Green Private Reserve (sold out). It’s the second best tasting green tea I’ve ever found. The best was the Qi Jing Bian Zhen , from Fujian, China. It took 2nd place at the National China Tea Competition in 1999 but is no longer available.

Black tea drinkers are also in luck. The best I found is the only black tea we are offering now: Golden Bi Luo from Yunnan Province. It has all the complexities of a high grade Yunnan Gold, but with an added sweetness that will linger on the palate (4401) @ $30 1/4 lb.

Oolong drinkers are in luck as well. But there are two to choose from: our Competition grade “Monkeypicked” Tieguanyin (3110) @ $40 1/4 lb. and a very nice high-mountain grown Phoenix Bird Oolong (3204) @ $20 1/4 lb. If you have a taste for oolongs, neither will disappoint you.

White tea drinkers are out of luck for now, but be sure to check back when I return from China in mid-May. If you want to call to talk tea, or just to say hello, the best time to catch me in the office is between 9:00 am – 10:00 am, Monday – Thursday (415 488-9017). Should you get the answering machine, please do leave a message with your phone number and best time to call you back.

You can also email me directly at david@davidleehoffman.com. Our website is still in progress, please check back soon at http://www.thephoenixcollection.com. For any other questions, orders, or inquiries you can reach someone in the office by email at info@thephoenixcollection.com, or by using the office number.

We will be offering tea tastings soon. Please let us know if you are interested.

I look forward to hearing from you.

All the best,

David Lee Hoffman

Leave a Reply

